Amazon Reviews for The Human Magnet Syndrome

SOME AMAZON REVIEWS

The Human Magnet Syndrome: Why We Love People Who Hurt Us

ScreenShot001

A Rosetta Stone For Relationships, March 5, 2014
By Farrell F Neeley
After reading Rosenberg’s work, I can highly recommend it to people who have been ‘hit’ by the runaway train of a love that turned out to be anything but love. The writing is insightful and easily accessible to both lay persons and academics. I also think it can provide valuable insight for those in management positions who encounter Narcissists and other disruptive personalities in their workplace. I believe that this book can be an asset to both the every day people that Rosenberg directs it at, and the academics and counselors out there who may need a fresh perspective.
Farrell F. Neeley, PhD

Relationships and marriage are difficult., March 1, 2014
By ewock
I found this one of the better books as it talks about people’s differences without placing blame on one side or the other. Sometimes you can love a person very much but find it almost too hard to be in a relationship with them. This helps explain the problems and helps you figure out whether or not you can work through this.

Enlightening book page after page, December 25, 2013

By Amazon Customer “Melaphant N.”
This review is from: The Human Magnet Syndrome: Why We Love People Who Hurt Us (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I found my jaw drop several times as the ah-ha’s kept rolling out. I’ve recommended it to everyone I know.

Amazingly concise, extraordinary but simple to understand insight,
February 2, 2014 By Joe Bernard
I have had a lot of therapy including psychoanalysis, but never has anyone written down my problems with my self-value with such great insight and power as Rosenberg. He is actually talking about the guy inside me, one that no-one really knows or can figure out. His simple language struck me like a tidal wave. It is the best purchase I have ever made, His book has made me change. “Mr. nice guy” no more, from now on I am becoming me.

Inspirational and healing… giving light to the dark path, January 23, 2014
By Glow
This book was authentically written from the perspective of the authors own personal journey to wholeness and transformation. Rosenberg is walking the walk that many of those with codependent traits wish to transform into like a chrysalis. Thank you for sharing your personal journey with us. Your vulnerability will open the steel doors which trap ourselves when we look down and see we are holding the key. We just need the courage to open the door

Gives you the Ah-Ha factor. May be the motivation you need., November 23, 2013
By K. Michael
This Is a great book that’s a quick read. Ross does a fabulous job explaining why we continue the dysfunctional dance and why we are attracted to these toxic people. After four years of struggling with a man who cheated, lied and repeatedly gave me punishments of silent treatments I found it very satisfying that i was NOT crazy and this behavior was not going to change. This book has helped me pick myself up and dust myself off. I am ready to focus on me for once and start healing. It Is not an easy process and sometimes I still crave that passion, chemistry and love I thought we shared but I realize it wasn’t real. That was my Co-dependency..You may have to remind yourself you deserve a healthy relationship. I pray that we all find a mutually satisfying, balanced loving relationship and if we find ourselves faced with another narcissist or whatever it may be, we RUN.

A very helpful guide, October 30, 2013
By Harvey Kelber
I have had a private counseling practice for 35 years,and I specialize in couples counseling. I think Ross Rosenberg has made a significant contribution to the literature on this topic for the general public and for professionals. Ross builds on the shoulders of Harville Hendrix, Susan Forward , Robin Norwood, John Gottman, and others who have insights on this topic. His continuum of self conception and graph gives a uniquely easy way to conceptualize his thesis. I strongly recommend this book.

The Human Magnet Syndrome, July 2, 2013
By Charles S.
Ross Rosenberg’s book, The Human Magnet Syndrome: Why We Love People Who Hurt Us, is clearly written; explaining complex ideas in a very accessible manner. I really appreciated the way Mr. Rosenberg wove in psychological concepts without getting overly clinical or unnecessarily intellectual. I especially appreciated his openness about his personal journey. His self-disclosure was impressive and heart felt. As a career & relationship coach, I think it’s really an important and accessible book. I was talking to one of my clients about it before it was published, and she ordered it when it came out. She said the book resonated with her and helped her understand why she keeps making unfortunate relationship choices that don’t work out. I definitely recommend it to therapists, coaches, consultants, and anyone who wants a better understanding of a powerful and profound relationship dynamic that has an impact on most of us.

A Breakthrough Book!, June 26, 2013
By Nelli
After years of trying to understand my codependency, and having different counselors at the same time–this book clearly explains in an understandable way the pull of the codependent with the narcissist.
After a divorce from a 30-year marriage, I still wanted to go back, but not understanding the reasons why. Thank you so much, Dr. Rosenberg. Your book is outstanding, and life-changing!

A dysfunctional dance, June 18, 2013
By Bulldog
I recommend this book to anyone recovering from a failed relationship and asking the question WHY.The Human Magnet Syndrome is not a “how to” book. It is a WHY book. In that sense, the book is more akin to a blueprint than a tool box. Once you understand your personal “blueprint”and why a relationship failed, you can begin to address the HOW to fix it. By “design” in my blueprint, I am a codependent – who married an “emotional manipulator”. That was not by chance – it was by design – thus the “magnet” metaphor in the title of the book. We danced the perfect and dysfunctional dance that the author explains.This book helped me see an early blueprint of my relationships.

As a codependent – I ALWAYS sought out “emotional manipulators”, not because we were the same – but because they had strong and opposite qualities that appealed to me as a codependent. Cracks in my foundation – now evident in my “blueprint” have been evident from my early childhood. They contributed directly to the failure of several relationships, including an over 20 year marriage.The book helped me better understand WHY I and my partner were initially so attracted to each other, loved each other, achieved many positive things, but ultimately ended a very long marriage. Now that I understand some of the WHY – I can begin to move on to other more healthy relationships.I highly recommend the book. It helped me make some sense out of chaos in my life…..

Excellent book that will help many, August 14, 2013
By Joyce Marter, LCPC
As a licensed psychotherapist with nearly 20 years experience, I highly recommend this book for therapists and all people interested in gaining insight and improving their relationships. Rosenberg hits the nail on the head in this book about one of the most prevalent yet under addressed issues I have seen in my practice—why givers are attracted to takers and how to achieve balance in relationships. He cites the classic books that address codependency and narcissism, while taking the discussion further–his “continuum of self” and “sum zero” concepts are ground breaking and extremely helpful. I really appreciate Rosenberg’s authenticity in bravely sharing his own therapeutic journey and discussing codependency among therapists and helping professionals. He is a positive example for clinicians and offers a wealth of insight in this user-friendly book.

For Professionals and People Who Want Healthier Relationships, July 1, 2013
By Donna
A fresh approach to view relationships. A way to understand complicated personality types and apply those traits to your life. Whether you are a professional guiding your clients, a life coach offering tips, or just someone who needs to understand why they have difficulties attracting nice people, this book is for you. Highlights include: understanding others’ selfishness, identifying takers and givers, providing a scale to see where one fits in, and identifying what about ourselves attracts these types of individuals. Most of the books I’ve read, as a professional Social Worker/Therapist, about Narcissism are complicated. So having this book to aid in not only understanding Narcissists, but also to have a book to be able to recommend to my clients, is appreciated. Thank you.

Donna Crunkilton-Stiegel, MSW, LCSW

 

Ross Rosenberg, M.Ed., LCPC, CADC
Psychotherapist & National Seminar Trainer

Owner of Clinical Care Consultants
Co-Owner of Advanced Clinical Trainers
Author of the Human Magnet Syndrome

book iconx   images    Clinical Care Consultants on linkedIn    twitter-icon    Clinical Care Consultants YouTube Channel     huff post icon